
Dog Licenses

By March 31st of each year, all dog owners must register their animal with the Town of
Ledgeview. Dog licenses require proof the animal has been given its rabies shot.

Dog License Application

Per Wisconsin State Statute 174.05, the owner of any dog more than 5 months of age must
have their dog licensed and tagged.  This statute is there for the protection of its citizens by
making sure dog owners are current on their pets’ rabies shots.  The tag numbers help to
identify the dog, their owners, and their rabies shot vaccine in the event someone should get
bit.

What do I need to do to get a dog tag?
The first step is to get your pet vaccinated for rabies.  A young dog should get its first rabies
shot at about 3 months of age.  The first rabies shot is good for one year.  Thereafter, rabies
vaccinations are effective for 3 years.  Your veterinarian will supply you with documentation
indicating that your pet has been vaccinated.  This document should include the rabies
vaccination date, the vaccine manufacturer, the expiration date of the vaccination, the name
and the serial number of the vaccine, the dog’s name, color, breed, whether the dog has been
spayed or neutered, and the owner’s name.

Bring or send the rabies documentation, along with payment, to the town office located at 3700
Dickinson Road, De Pere, WI 54115.  There is also a drop box located in the vestibule of the
Town Municipal building where you can drop this information off after hours.  The office hours at
the Town are 7:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m., Monday through Thursday, and 7:30 am to 11:30 am on
Fridays.  All rabies documents are returned to the owners with the tags.  The rabies certificates
are not kept on file, so you will have to send it in with each renewal of your pet’s license.

What do Dog Tags Cost:
Males:   $10.50, Females:  $10.50, Neutered Males: $5.50, Spayed Females: $5.50
Dog tags can be purchased from Jan. 1 to Apr. 1 at the rate shown above.  There is a late
charge fee of $5.00 per dog for any applications received after April 1.  Records of all dog tag
receipts and payments are sent to the Brown County Clerk.

Per Wisconsin State Statute 174.05, a dog is considered untagged if a valid license tag is not
attached to a collar, which is kept on the dog whenever the dog is outdoors, unless the dog is
securely confined in a fenced area.  If the owner permits the dog to be untagged, the owner
shall forfeit not less than $25.00 or more than $100.00 for the first offense and not less than
$50.00 nor more than $200.00 for subsequent offenses.

https://www.ledgeview.wi.gov/public-safety-animal-control/page/dog-licenses
https://www.ledgeview.wi.gov/media/1431


My neighbor has a dog that is constantly in my yard. What can I do about this?
Per Wisconsin State Statute 174.42, dogs running at large and untagged are subject to
impoundment and penalties to the owner.  A dog is considered at large if it is off of the
premises of its owner and not under the control of the owner or some other person responsible
for it.  If the owner of the dog negligently or otherwise permits the dog to run at large, the
owner shall forfeit not less than $25.00 nor more than $100.00 for the first offense and not less
than $50.00 nor more than $200.00 for subsequent offenses.

Who do I contact if I have a problem with a neighbors pet?
Constable Christopher Lauder, TownConstable [at] ledgeview.wi.gov


